The call

3:30 pm . The 10th of April 2010. The abandoned warehouse by the docks.

George Saunders wakes up. His eyes take a while to get used to the dimly lit room. He tries to move. His hands are tied. His head hurts. Nothing makes sense. “Hello?” he ventures into the darkness.

“He’s come to, Mac” says a voice completely ignoring him.

“Sit him up. We need to make that call. Where’s doc?

Doc! What are you sitting around for? Get off your ass and get me the phone. We need to have a little chat with Mrs. Saunders”

The phone rings.

“Mrs Saunders?”

“We have your husband. If you want to see him alive again, you will have to pay.”

“50 million”

“You think you don’t have that kind of money. Here, talk to your husband”

George Saunders feels the phone on his ear. His wife’s worried voice says, “George, they are asking for 50 million. We don’t have that kind of money. Even if we sell the house or my jewellery, we can’t get that kind of money. I just don’t know what to do!”

“Darling, Listen to me very carefully. There are a few things I haven’t told you. I have the money. It’s hidden in accounts I have created in fake names”

“ Well, I didn’t want to put you in danger. It’s….It’s not all legal you see”

“Honey, Please! Now is not the time for this! Just listen to me and do as I say. In the first drawer of my desk you’ll find a copy of the bible. Go to page 54. You’ll find details of the accounts.”

“Yes, there is a password. It’s your name”

“Yes. Do this as soon as possible. Give these people the money. “

Mac pulls the phone away.

“So, Mrs. Saunders, I believe you have what you need.”

“ Yes. Under the bridge. 2 am”

He puts down the phone.

Hysterical laughter.

“We’re rich now boys”

Cheers. Hugs.

Mac starts moving towards the door.
“Doc, Do it. Dispose of the body well. None of the bullshit you gave me last time!”

“Will do, Boss”

George Saunders is yelling. He can’t believe this. This cannot be happening.

“But you’ll get the money! Please! I want to live”

“Shut up!” barks Doc, taking aim at his head.

More pleadings. More calls for mercy. A gun shot.
***

3:30 pm. The 10th of April . The Saunders’ residence.

Mrs. Magdala Saunders wakes up. She’d fallen asleep in front of the television.

God, this was a boring movie<>

She picks up the plate and heads towards the kitchen. The phone rings.

“ Hello?”

“Yes ”

“ He took so long to wake up? Good lord!”

“ Go on, Mac. You do your lines, I’ll do mine.”

““George, they are asking for 50 million. We don’t have that kind of money. Even if we see the house or my jewellery, we can’t get that kind of money. I just don’t know what to do!”

She’d always been a good actor. The fear in her husband’s voice was making her laugh. She almost did, but made up by wailing loudly. In this kind of mental trauma, her husband was unlikely to figure out the difference between real crying and loud wailing.

Control yourself, Maggie. Play the part.<br />

“But …how come I don’t know about this?”

“How could you keep this from me , George? I mean , I am your wife!”

That last line came out really well. Maggie, you should be in the movies!

“Okay. Is there anything else I need to know? I don’t them to hurt you Honey. Try to remember. Anything else? Any passwords? Anything more? “

How sweet!

“So that’s all? “

“Yes. I think I have the information I need. You’ve done well Mac. You’ll be rewarded handsomely.”

“Yes. And make sure you dispose the body properly this time. Doc made a total mess of it the last time. I’ll check out this account then. Tata!”

This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The call

  1. Diwakar says:

    One needs to look beyond that sophisticated face of yours. You have suddenly become too crime-oriented. The elderly are right, violence on TV is taking its toll of our kids 🙂

    Very hitchcocky. Keep the ink flowing boss.

  2. Architha says:

    This morbidness makes me miss our random conversations even more.
    Keep this frame of mind intact. Very essential for the success of OCD comics. 🙂

  3. Aditya says:

    @archie – thanks for reminding me about OCD comics. Gotta go yell at surdy now.

  4. Kornica says:

    I love the way the story is told…Nice!

  5. Gurdit says:

    Dude, in all honesty, not a bad story, but a very casual manner of narration and not as good as the first 2 stories.

    (Sorry for bursting your bubble 😛 )

    PS: Working on the OCD comics…looks like scanning is the only option 😦

Leave a Reply

